GUAM POWER AUTHORITY



ATURIDÅT ILEKTRESEDÅT GUÅHAN P.O.BOX 2977 • HAGÅTÑA, GUAM U.S.A. 96932-2977

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 20, 2024

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: JOYCE N. SAYAMA COMMUNICATIONS MANAGER PHONE NO.: (671) 648-3145



Guam Power Authority General Manager John M. Benavente, P.E. Honored with 2024 Professor John M. Phillips Excellence in Government Accountability Award

(Fadian, Mangilao) – The Guam Power Authority (GPA) proudly announces that its General Manager, John M. Benavente, P.E. has been named the recipient of the prestigious 2024 Professor John M. Phillips Excellence in Government Accountability Award, presented by the Association of Government Accountants (AGA) Guam Chapter.

This award recognizes GM Benavente's exemplary public service, leadership, and commitment to advancing government accountability throughout his career. Under his leadership, GPA has continued to set high standards for operational excellence, ethical practices, and innovative management strategies. His dedication has strengthened both the organization and the community, embodying the values that the award represents.

Mr. John M. Benavente, P.E. has dedicated nearly 40 years to growing the Guam Power Authority into a robust, capable power utility. During his 26+ year tenure as General Manager, he has led the Authority's strategic transformation from a traditional utility to a modern, clean energy, customer-centric public power utility. Throughout his career, he led Guam's public utility through devastating natural disasters, such as the 7.8 magnitude earthquake in 1993, Typhoon Pongsona in 2002, and the Typhoon Mawar in 2023, to name a few.

Mr. Benavente is committed in the transformation and hardening efforts of GPA's infrastructure. This eventually led to the development of Guam's Clean Energy Master Plan to identify new sources of renewable energy for Guam. It is his mission to ensure that GPA continues to lead the way to provide sustainable, clean, and affordable energy to the island.

Through Mr. Benavente's leadership, GPA has made significant progress toward sustained clean, reliable, resilient, affordable energy for all island ratepayers. By 2028, GPA projects that it will reach 56% renewable energy generation, reduce its oil imports by 1.17 million barrels, comply with all US EPA consent decree requirements, reduce 99% sulfur dioxide emissions and deliver lower energy costs for all utility ratepayers.

Mr. Benavente is an American Public Power Association 2023 James D. Donovan Individual Achievement Award recipient. He is a licensed Professional Engineer. He holds a Master of Science in Engineering Management from the University of Missouri (Rolla) and a Bachelor of Science Mechanical Engineering degree from the University of Dayton.

"I am truly honored to receive the Professor John M. Phillips Excellence in Government Accountability Award on behalf of our customers," said GM Benavente. "This recognition reflects not only my efforts but the dedication of my entire team at GPA. It is a privilege to serve our community and be part of an organization that prioritizes integrity, accountability, and innovation. I am grateful to the AGA Guam Chapter for this meaningful honor and inspired to continue working towards the highest standards in public service."

This award honors government professionals who demonstrate outstanding leadership, high ethical standards, and innovation in public service. The award presentation was held at the CCU Executive Board Room on November 19, 2024, with representatives from the AGA Guam Chapter and Professor Phillips' family in attendance to honor Mr. Benavente's achievements.

###





Featured Main Photo Caption: **Pictured from left-to-right** are Mr. Sean Phillips, CPA, Ms. Katherine Phillips Aguon, GM Benavente and Attorney Mike Phillips.

Additional Photo Caption (Left): GPA GM John M. Benavente, P.E. holds the Professor John M. Phillips Excellence in Government Accountability Award.

Additional Photo Caption (Right): AGA Guam Chapter officers, representatives, family members of Professor Phillips and GPA GM John M. Benavente, P.E. pose with the 2024 Professor John M. Phillips Excellence in Government Accountability Award. **Pictured from left-to-right** are Katrina Mae F. Tahimik, Jorizaira Borja, Mercedes Poliarco, Taling Taitano, Llewelyn Terlaje, GM John M. Benavente, P.E., Maripaz N. Perez, Thomas Battung, Vincent Duenas, and John Kim.